Omoi no Concerto – Shimotsuki Haruka

omoi

Track Listing:

  1. -HISTORIA-
  2. Tsubasa wo Motanai Shoujo
  3. Kokoro no Kakera
  4. a little more
  5. Kimi to Miru Yume
  6. Harukana Sora e
  7. Hana ga Saku Machi de
  8. Sora to Kaze no Senritsu
  9. Mizu wo Utsusu Mono
  10. Hoshikuzu
  11. Soukoku no Libra
  12. RAINBOW
  13. unnamed place
  14. Tsuki no Uro
  15. Omoi no Concerto

First of all, I’m just recently become a fan of Shimotsuki Haruka. A certain someone ALWAYS told me that she is awesome. But I was like “meh, whatever” until I heard her mini album, Koboreru Suna no Aria. So it means that my review here will be from the view of a newbie. And without more useless babbling, let’s get on the review.

1. -HISTORIA-

-HISTORIA- makes a good start as an opening song for an album. It starts off slow and suddenly, those beats kick in and make a wonderful rythm until the end it’s back to how slow it was in the first place.

2. Tsubasa wo Motanai Shoujo

Tsubasa wo Motanai Shoujo serves as a second track with its own accoustic feelings. I have to say that this second song also picked my interest with its jumpy piano notes and of course, the violins. This is a good song, though I still like -HISTORIA- better in some aspect.

3. Kokoro no Kakera

Serving as the third song, Kokoro no Kakera is a good ballad. With my unreasonable love for ballad, Kokoro no Kakera is of course my favourite between the first three song.  Also, the flute that’s played on this song is a plus point which makes it more soothing.

4.  a little more

The fourth song is like the polar opposite with Kokoro no Kakera. This tracks really puts me on fire when I listen to it. On this song, Haruka really keep up her voice which makes this song feels so good.

5. Kimi to Miru Yume

Kimi to Miru Yume is one of my favourite track, alongside with Hoshikuzu. The beautiful piano and flute here could make any heart melts. Haruka also sings beautifully. Though of course, it feels so weird listening to a very soothing song right after an upbeat one, but still it’s my favourite.

6. Harukana Sora he

The entirety of this songs make me recall almost all track of Koboreru Suna no Aria. You know, that folk-ish style and violin here and there. And it’s also because this kind of music that I fall in love with Haruka after all.

7. Hana ga Saku Machi de

Hana ga Saku Machi de isn’t that much different with the so long previous track, folkish style song. Not to mention there’s this epic flute playing on the intro that makes it feels like you are on a ricefield or something. Well, this song feels a little cuter than Harukana Sora he, to be true. But that doesn’t change the fact that I strangely enough enjoy this song.

8. Sora to Kaze no Senritsu

This track starts with a jumpy piano tune which gives a good groove. It feels kinda weird to hear this after two folkish songs before it because in all, this song really feels animeish or something. Like a perfect ED theme or OP theme of a certain anime. This song is one of those songs I can’t get out of my head because the chorus part is just too catchy.

9. Mizu wo Utsusu Mono

Ninth track starts off with a unique kind of music. It’s like the opening for a medieval themed tactical game (or even Ys) with the flute. Even though it resembles Harukana Sora he and Hana ga Saku Michi de, I feel that it fits more to be castlish rather than folkish I dunno why.

10. Hoshikuzu

It feels nice to hear an acapella once in a while because on the intro of this song, Haruka sings alone before the arrangement comes shortly after. And yes, Hoshikuzu is another ballad, which makes it another favourite right after Kimi to Miru Yume. But yeah, all those arrangement and orchestral feeling disappear after a moment and leaves Haruka with only piano. It’s not bad, but it sounds weird though I still like it.

11. Soukoku no Libra

After Hoshikuzu, it feels weird to hear Soukoku no Libra’s intro because it’s too strong. Also, this feels so animeish, though it’s not bad. But then again, this song is strong that it makes me want more. Five minutes is not enough for it!

12. RAINBOW

Cute. That is what I have to say about this song. Yes, only that. Or if I may add, it’s too cute that it doesn’t fit with the entire else of the album. I don’t even know what should I write because RAINBOW seems like a song on the different album after all those epicness before it.

13. unnamed place

Started off with a piano, I thought it would be another ballad. But as it moves on, it feels darker and has heavier atmosphere than most of the other song. Not so long, all the other instrument starts to kick in and poof, there you got it. Not to mention it’s like an antidote after you are poisoned by how cute RAINBOW was.

14. Tsuki no Uro

Finally another matching feels between track. To hear this coming after unnamed place really soothe my soul somehow even though it has the same -even darker- atmosphere than the previous track.

15. Omoi no Concerto

The last track of this album, which also serves as the album title. Before anything else, this track reminds me a lot of Michibiki no Harmony which is good. Even though this song is a little bit cute, but it also has this folkish feeling. Not to mention the chorus of this song is clearly catchy.

Recommended track

  • -HISTORIA-
  • Kokoro no Kakera
  • Kimi to Miru Yume
  • Hoshikuzu
  • Omoi no Concerto

Track to avoid

  • RAINBOW

For a new fans, I really enjoy this album (also with her other albums) and that’s why if you’re a new fan or don’t even know about Shimotsuki Haruka, Omoi no Concerto could be a good start.

One thought on “Omoi no Concerto – Shimotsuki Haruka

Leave a Reply

